Australian Psychology Accreditation Council

Find courses in

About APAC

APAC is an independent quality and standards organisation, appointed as an external accreditation entity under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009. APAC is a not-for-profit Company Limited by Guarantee and is governed by an independent board of twelve Directors.

APAC accredits more than 420 programs of study across 40 higher education providers including courses in Malaysia and Singapore, and maintains an accreditation archive containing records dating as far back as 1971. APAC has over 30 certified expert assessors on its register who contribute to APAC’s program of assessments and advisory work. APAC provides accreditation assessor training and certification, as well as advice on quality improvement and other aspects of higher education and training to a range of organisations including governments. APAC has strong links with other national and international accreditation agencies, and with higher education quality networks.



APAC was formed in 2005 primarily for the purpose of setting national standards for the education and training of psychologists and to accredit programs of study which meet those standards. In 2008, under arrangements set down in the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council assigned to APAC the accreditation functions for the psychology profession under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for the Health Professions. In May 2014 APAC was re-assigned the accreditation function by the Psychology Board of Australia until June 2018.

Annual Reports

APAC Annual Report 2015 

APAC Annual Report 2016

APAC Constitution

APAC Constitution May 2015 (208 kb) 

Current Board of Directors

Under APAC’s Constitution, nominations for appointment to the APAC Board come from three nominating bodies: four Directors are nominated by the Psychology Board of Australia (PsyBA), four Directors are nominated by the Australian Psychological Society (APS), and four Directors are nominated by the Heads of Departments and Schools of Psychology Association (HODSPA).

Directors are:

  • Professor Simon Crowe (Chair)
  • Associate Professor Roger Cook
  • Ms Ann Doolette
  • Adjunct Professor Geoffrey George
  • Professor Caroline Hunt (Deputy Chair)
  • Professor Lyn Littlefield
  • Professor Nancy Pachana (Deputy Chair)                                  
  • Ms Clare Thompson
  • Professor Alison Garton
  • Professor John Gleeson
  • Professor Robert Schweitzer

The next meeting of the APAC Board will be held in Melbourne on Monday 5 March 2018.


Please read the Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting APAC . If your query is not answered there, you can contact APAC at:

Telephone: +61 3 9999 4900;  

Postal address
Australian Psychology Accreditation Council
PO Box 18385 Melbourne VIC 3001